just breathe

breatheSeriously, is it that easy?  Do we over-complicate life so much that sometimes we need to just take a moment to breathe?

Since childhood, we’ve been taught to “take a few deep breaths” or “relax and breathe” when we feel angry, stressed, sad, frustrated.  I remember this working really well as a kid, but then I grew up and I forgot.  Breathing became something I just did.  I didn’t think about it.  And then, like life always does, I circled back to that concept from childhood.  This time, through yoga pranayama (breath control practice).  Now, it’s not even about a special pranayama technique, it’s enough to just remember “Sometimes it’s okay if the only thing you did today was breathe.”  That’s how powerful breath is.  If it’s the only thing you do, you’re still alive, right?

namaste!
angie

